Our Italian neighbours are our friends.

We owe so much to the Italians… not only coffee and wine but also their all-round attitude towards life, with its open cheerfulness, joyful zest for life and heartfelt camaraderie.

Italy was one of the countries in Europe that were hit very early and particularly hard by the corona pandemic. As early as February 2020 – within a few weeks of the outbreak of the pandemic – many people there were already in the midst of a serious emergency. This is how the initiative “To Italy with Love” came into being – a project close to the heart of Dr. Hansjörg Künzel and Elke Menzel.

What has happened over the last few months…

Our spontaneous relief campaign for Italy started at the very beginning of the corona pandemic in February 2020, partly due to the lack of support from German and European politicians back then. Relations between Italy and Germany were very tense at that time and threatened to sever the otherwise close and friendly ties.

The Italian crisis areas, however, expressed a dire need for medical supplies such as respiratory masks, gloves and disinfectants. Although the worldwide market for these products was practically sold out, we managed to find suppliers for the first “smaller” quantities of masks and other medical equipment. We would like to take this opportunity to express our special thanks to these early sponsors!

As early as March 2020, we were therefore able to set off for Italy for the first time and deliver the first donations in the form of 6,000 masks to hospitals and civil defense forces in Perugia and Marsciano. At that time Italy was in complete lockdown, so the trip was somewhat adventurous with special permits and some hair-raising moments!

Between March and October 2020, we travelled to Italy 9 times in our own cars, personally handing over more than 120,000 masks and more than 100,000 latex gloves – which for a certain period of time were trafficked like gold – to various institutions (hospitals, doctors’ surgeries, civil defence, homes for the elderly and disabled, as well as hospices, food outlets, social services and a prison), selected companies (supermarkets, pharmacies) and individuals in need.

What your donations have already achieved…

Our actions were met with immense gratitude – and we were also able to enjoy some tangible successes. Dr. Paolo Groff, Director of the Emergency Department at the University Hospital of Perugia, expressed the greatest praise of all: “With your help you have saved human lives!” Some of his nursing staff had already had to make do with self-made protective suits, which led to a rapid increase in staff absenteeism and corresponding bottlenecks in the care of patients. According to Dr. Paolo Groff, our supplies brought about such a noticeable improvement that there were gradually fewer and fewer infections among the hospital’s nursing staff, meaning patient care could be continued with maximum staff numbers again.

From mid-June 2020 the supply of masks etc. to the Italian population slowly returned to normal, which enabled us to gradually use donated funds and goods for other purposes as well, such as urgently required wheelchairs and bath lifts for nursing homes for the elderly and disabled.

Since October 2020, the number of infections in Europe has continued to rise again incessantly. As with the first wave, rural areas in Italy are particularly hard hit, as most aid is flowing into the big cities. We are therefore concentrating our efforts once again on the need for medical supplies in rural areas, including respiratory masks, gloves and disinfectants.

Our journey to becoming a non-profit organisation:

We thank all our donors and supporters who made the start of this project possible. Within the space of a few months, what started out as a spontaneous fundraising campaign developed into a common mission – and in October 2020 we founded the association “To Italy with Love”! The next step of this association is to become a non-profit organisation. You will find more details here shortly on the guiding principles and the work of “To Italy with Love”.

To all of you who feel inspired and would like to support our Italian neighbors, please join us!

Here are our contact details as well as the donation account details for spontaneous donors.

A cordial GRAZIE MILLE,
Hansjörg Künzel, Elke Menzel and the whole “To Italy with Love” team

Contact:
Dr. Hansjörg Künzel
+49 (0)172 9705000
h.kuenzel@to-italy-with-love.com

Donation account “TO ITALY WITH LOVE”
IBAN: DE02501203830046127023
BIC: DELBDE33XXX

Impressions

Donators

Lisa Alric-Schnee
Andrew Bannon
Susanne Bayer
Tim Bechtl
Amir Borenstein
Jessica Bossert
Klaus Brecht
Dr. Uwe und Barbara Büchner
Jürgen Cornelius
Dr. Claudia Drews
Stefan Garstecki
Anke Gillner
Petra Hüttermann & Tom Heim
Christian John
Christine, Peter & Dr. Alexander Kappes
Pirjo, Laleh & Babak Kazemi
Alexandra Kolb
Dirk König
Peter Köwing
Monika Kreilinger
Agneta & Clemens Lansing
Linda Märkl
Dr. Carolin und Dr. Manuel Menzel

Axel & Susann Meise
Burim Morina
Thomas Nestler und Madelon Jord
Natasha Dr. Doslik & Uwe Neugebauer
Jorn Nikolay
Carina & Farid El-Nomany
Sonja Peters
Frank Pfeifer
Manuel Pfeiffer
Roland Pfeiffer
Michael Radermacher
Alexandra und Alex Reus
Rotary Club München Ost
Rotary Club Wien-Mozart
Dr. Norbert Schäfer
Joram & Nathalie Scher
Elke Schuldt
Felix Spanke
Nikola und Frieder Spieth
Peter Spieth
Michael Staudinger
Petra Tisch
Alexander Voelkel
Jasper Walther
Maike Lisa Weiss
Benjamin Wolf

Unsere italienischen Nachbarn sind unsere Freunde.

Wir verdanken den Italienern so viel… nicht nur Kaffee und Vino – sondern insgesamt das italienische Lebensgefühl mit seiner offenen Fröhlichkeit, der genussvollen Lebensart, dem herzlichen Miteinander.

Italien ist eines der Länder in Europa, die sehr früh und besonders stark von der Corona-Pandemie betroffen waren. Bereits im Februar 2020 – innerhalb weniger Wochen nach Ausbruch der Pandemie – steckten dort viele Menschen in einer ganz fürchterlichen Notsituation. So entstand die Initiative „To Italy with Love“ – ein Herzensprojekt von Dr. Hansjörg Künzel und Elke Menzel.

Was in den letzten Monaten geschah…

Unsere spontane Hilfsaktion für Italien entstand ganz zu Beginn der Corona-Pandemie im Februar 2020. Hintergrund war unter anderem die damals noch fehlende Unterstützung seitens der deutschen und europäischen Politik. Das Verhältnis zwischen Italien und Deutschland war zu diesem Zeitpunkt sehr angespannt und drohte die sonst so engen und freundschaftlichen Verbindungen zu sprengen.

Dabei meldeten die italienischen Krisengebiete verzweifelten Bedarf an medizinischen Hilfsmitteln wie Atemschutzmasken, Handschuhen und Desinfektionsmitteln. Obwohl der weltweite Markt für diese Produkte nahezu ausverkauft war, gelang es uns, Lieferanten für die ersten „kleineren“ Mengen an Masken und anderen medizinischen Hilfsmitteln zu finden. An dieser Stelle ein ganz besonders herzliches Dankeschön an diese Unterstützer der ersten Stunde!

Bereits im März 2020 konnten wir so zum ersten Mal nach Italien aufbrechen und die ersten Spenden in Form von insgesamt 6.000 Masken in Perugia und Marsciano an Krankenhäuser und den Zivilschutz übergeben. Zu dieser Zeit war Italien im kompletten Lockdown – eine entsprechend abenteuerliche Reise mit Sondergenehmigungen und viel Herzklopfen wurde es!

Von März bis Oktober 2020 sind wir insgesamt 9 Mal mit unseren Privat-PKWs nach Italien gereist und haben insgesamt mehr als 120.000 Masken und mehr als 100.000 Latexhandschuhe – die zwischenzeitlich wie Gold gehandelt wurden – persönlich an verschiedene Institutionen (Krankenhäuser, Arztpraxen, Zivilschutz, Alters- und Behindertenheime sowie Hospize, Essensausgaben, Sozialeinrichtungen und ein Gefängnis), ausgewählte Unternehmen (Supermärkte, Apotheken) und bedürftigen Einzelpersonen überreicht.

Was Ihre Spenden bereits bewirkt haben…

Unsere Aktionen stießen auf große Dankbarkeit – und wir durften uns auch über ganz konkrete Erfolge freuen. Dr. Paolo Groff, Direktor der Notaufnahme im Universitätskrankenhaus von Perugia, sprach die größte Anerkennung überhaupt aus: „Ihr habt mit Eurer Hilfe Menschenleben gerettet!“ Dies ist überwältigend für uns und gibt unserem Projekt den größtmöglichen Sinn.

Seine Pflegekräfte hatten sich teilweise schon mit selbstgebastelten Schutzanzügen behelfen müssen, was zu einem rapiden Anstieg der Ausfallquoten im Personal und entsprechenden Engpässen in der Betreuung von Patienten führte. Unsere Hilfsmittel bewirkten laut Dr. Paolo Groff eine so merkliche Verbesserung, dass es unter dem Pflegepersonal des Krankenhauses sukzessive immer weniger Ansteckungen gab und die Pflege der Patienten so wieder mit voller Personalstärke fortgeführt werden konnte.

Ab Mitte Juni 2020 normalisierte sich die Versorgung der italienischen Bevölkerung mit Masken etc. allmählich wieder, so dass wir Spendengelder und Sachspenden nach und nach auch für andere Zwecke wie z.B. dringend benötigte Rollstühle und Badewannenlifter für Senioren- und Behindertenheime einsetzen konnten.

Seit Oktober 2020 steigen nun leider wieder unaufhörlich die Infektionszahlen in ganz Europa. Wie schon in der ersten Welle sind in Italien die ländlichen Regionen besonders stark betroffen, da die meisten Hilfen in die Großstädte fließen. Wir konzentrieren unsere Arbeit deshalb jetzt wieder verstärkt auf den dortigen Bedarf an medizinischen Hilfsmitteln wie Atemschutzmasken, Handschuhen und Desinfektionsmitteln.

Unser Weg zum gemeinnützigen Verein:

Wir bedanken uns bei all unseren Spendern und Unterstützern, die den Start dieses Projektes möglich gemacht haben. Innerhalb weniger Monate entstand aus einer spontanen Spendenaktion eine gemeinsame Mission – und im Oktober 2020 gründeten wir den Verein „To Italy with Love“! Im nächsten Schritt strebt dieser Verein die Gemeinnützigkeit an. Weitere Infos zu den Leitgedanken und zur Arbeit von „To Italy with Love“ finden Sie hier in Kürze.

An alle, die sich jetzt auch angesprochen fühlen und ebenfalls unsere italienischen Nachbarn unterstützen möchten, bitte machen Sie mit!!

Hier unsere Kontaktdaten – und für Kurzentschlossene das Spendenkonto.

Ein herzliches GRAZIE MILLE –
Hansjörg Künzel, Elke Menzel und das ganze „To Italy with Love“-Team

Kontakt:
Dr. Hansjörg Künzel
+49 (0)172 9705000
h.kuenzel@to-italy-with-love.com

Spendenkonto:
TO ITALY WITH LOVE
IBAN: DE02501203830046127023
BIC: DELBDE33XXX
Betreff: Spende für Italien

Eindrücke

Spender:

Lisa Alric-Schnee
Andrew Bannon
Susanne Bayer
Tim Bechtl
Amir Borenstein
Jessica Bossert
Klaus Brecht
Dr. Uwe und Barbara Büchner
Jürgen Cornelius
Dr. Claudia Drews
Stefan Garstecki
Anke Gillner
Petra Hüttermann & Tom Heim
Christian John
Christine, Peter & Dr. Alexander Kappes
Pirjo, Laleh & Babak Kazemi
Alexandra Kolb
Dirk König
Peter Köwing
Monika Kreilinger
Agneta & Clemens Lansing
Linda Märkl
Dr. Carolin und Dr. Manuel Menzel

Axel & Susann Meise
Burim Morina
Thomas Nestler und Madelon Jord
Natasha Dr. Doslik & Uwe Neugebauer
Yorn Nikolay
Carina & Farid El-Nomany
Sonja Peters
Frank Pfeifer
Manuel Pfeiffer
Roland Pfeiffer
Michael Radermacher
Alexandra und Alex Reus
Rotary Club München Ost
Rotary Club Wien-Mozart
Dr. Norbert Schäfer
Joram & Nathalie Scher
Elke Schuldt
Felix Spanke
Nikola und Frieder Spieth
Peter Spieth
Michael Staudinger
Petra Tisch
Alexander Voelkel
Jasper Walther
Maike Lisa Weiss
Benjamin Wolf